Skip to content

Gali’s green art

December 23, 2009

Blue and Red Landscapes

Last weekend I went to visit my friend Galia Gluckman and her family in Great Neck.  Its always such a pleasure to be in their home where the walls are covered in her beautiful artwork.

Gali’s art is big, bold, very colorful and makes me feel happy (its a good reflection of the woman who made it).  I think my favourites are the landscapes: of which ‘Blue Landscape’ and ‘Red Landscape’ are shown at left.  But every time she starts a new series she surprises me by making me like it even more than the last!

The amazing collages are made by cutting up old magazines.  Its upcycling at its best, making so much more by diverting the glossy pages that would have ended up in landfill.  This year she won the Green Artist award at the International Artexpo in NYC.

You can see more of her work and read about the process (and order limited edition prints) on her website.  And her work is in the December issue of Interior Design magazine where they round up the  “best of 2009″ — so get yourself a copy of that!

-by Talia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JPR permalink
    December 24, 2009 12:28 pm

    Beautiful artwork. I would love to hang one in my house. When my son was born I made him a fish mobile using catalogues and magazines. Not nearly as beautiful and professional as this, but we both enjoy it.

    • December 24, 2009 12:31 pm

      We’d love to see photos of the fish mobile and share it on our flickr feed!

Trackbacks

  1. Fleeting craftroom color « innBrooklyn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

