Skip to content

Great granola recipe

December 26, 2009

I did not inherit my love of elaborate cooking from my mother (neither is she responsible for the amazing rate at which I can consume the foods I create).  The one thing that she did always keep a batch of in the house was homemade granola.  I loved the days the granola was baking, the smell of the honey and the roasting nuts was so comforting, and soon I’d stand in the kitchen over a too hot baking tray burning my tongue because I couldn’t wait for the pecans to cool before I picked a few out!

If my mom always had a batch made up you can believe that its so easy to make your own granola.  I use a slightly different recipe these days, and I mix it up a bit each time – its fun to try different combinations.  Plus, it’s cheaper to make at home too!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups organic rolled grains (rolled rice, rolled oats, rolled barley,etc) — I usually use four different kinds, one cup of each.  It can be a bit hard to find so many options though, and if you can’t, its ok to just use the oats, which are easy to get.
  • 2 – 3 cups organic seeds & nuts (sesame, pumpkin,almonds, walnuts, pecans, sunflower, etc) — my new favourite combo is 1/2 c. each of sesame, sunflower and pumpkin, and 1 c. of pecans
  • 1 cup syrup (honey and oil; butter and cane syrup, brown rice syrup & maple syrup, etc).  I have been using a combination of the brown rice syrup and maple from the farmer’s market.  I read that these are slow release sugars and so don’t give you a sugar high followed by the need for a nap!
  • 1-2 cups organic dried fruits (cranberries, goji berries, coconut, banana chips, apple slices).  I like banana with the nut combo above, and then I have also been adding coconut flakes. You can also add spices like cinnamon/nutmeg or vanilla essence, but I never do.

To make:

  • Mix grains, seeds & nuts in a large bowl.
  • Gently heat syrup ingredients to soften and  pour syrup over grain mix, stirring to coat well.
  • Put mix into an oven proof, flat dish and bake at 350 until golden brown,  stirring occasionally. (This is actually the only bit that you have to be careful of, check it, and stir, every 10 min until it starts to color but then more often to be sure not to burn).  If I’m adding coconut flakes I put them in when there is about 5 minutes more of baking time, that way that get a little toasted but stay moist.
  • Cool, and break up chunks, then add dried fruits.

– By Talia

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Indira Banerjee permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:48 pm

    If this Granola mixture can be made into bars I can see myself grabbing one of those along with my morning tea before I dart off the house to catch the commuter railroad to work.

    This could be a true healthy snack/breakfast for busy working Mom. I can safely vouch for that. I have no time left for myself after I make sure everyone in the family including cats have something to eat in the morning. I find myself always rushing and chewing some kind of mini muffins or cereal from the box which is actually my breakfast.

    • December 26, 2009 7:55 pm

      You are not the first to request the granola in bars: unfortunately I don’t know how to do it, the syrup doesn’t stick it together enough. But given your very clear need for something better than box mini muffins I am going to take the challenge and see what I can do. Will keep you posted.

  2. December 30, 2009 10:02 pm

    I’m a granola junkie, too… And have made bar form granola (my last attempt was from the latest Batefoot Contessa cookbook), and I can usually manage to get big chunks if not proper bars. Most bar recipes I’ve seen have sweetened condensed milk, so I hope you find a healthier version so I can easily pack it to go as well!

    • December 30, 2009 10:09 pm

      i’ll have a look at the barefoot contessa cookbook next time i’m in a bookstore… i have to say, condensed milk may not be a healthy option but i do LOVE the stuff, so i might have to try that before i try something healthier!!

  3. January 3, 2010 8:10 am

    i recognize that granola!

  4. March 12, 2010 8:45 pm

    This granola was great, thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Homegrown hippie « ~ exploring the joy of cooking ~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

