Skip to content

Quilt

February 22, 2010

I finally got the quilt done just in time: I gave it to P&N just a week before Ida was born.  She’s home now, such a gorgeous baby girl, and I was excited to be able to visit her yesterday.  Her dad managed to make time to take these photos so I could show you all how the quilt turned out.

Thanks to everyone who voted on the initial quilt layout and color poll.  In the end it was an amazing and nail biting three way split so I gave the expectant mother the deciding vote and went with a brown background.

I am really happy with how the quilt came out — I actually think I like the side with the horizontal patchwork strip, which was meant to be the ‘back’ better than I like the ‘front’ which is the layout with the squares I had originally blogged about.  It seems really nice and simple and the composition feels balanced.

The hardest part was getting the pieces together into something resembling an even rectangle… its hard to cut large pieces of fabric to size when you are working on your kitchen counter.

I referred to Denyse Schmidt’s quilting book at lot but her directions seem unnecessarily specific in places (eg if you just want a strip of uneven pieces laid together to make a long row you don’t really need a pattern).  Thanks to JPR who walked me through some of it and shared some advice, and gave me the confidence not to follow all the patterns.

I definitely will make another quilt: just have to decide what and what colors.  There are certainly enough fabric scraps to do several more!

–By Talia

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 7:19 am

    The quilt looks amazing and I like the horizontal stripe too. Nice wall background. -Noerah

  2. February 22, 2010 10:47 am

    As the proud owner of this quilt, I can attest to the fantastic-ness of both sides. We are grateful! I kind of like the broad horizontal stripe on the “back” – cool, simple funky. Thanks Tali!!

    • February 22, 2010 10:49 am

      Really was my pleasure and I’m so glad you like it! Was so nice to see you all yesterday. Give Ida kisses from me, tell her I can’t wait to visit again! T

  3. Sarah permalink
    February 24, 2010 10:51 am

    i would just like to mention, for the credit, that that is my arm!!!!!

    good to see you all over the weekend. missing baby Ida already…

    • February 24, 2010 10:54 am

      its true: that is sarah’s lovely arm on the right. and next time she’ll model her feet!

  4. Briana permalink
    February 27, 2010 4:20 pm

    Ditto on the horizontal stripe side. Very cool and modern-looking, but warm! You probably have your favorite places staked out, but I really love the fabrics at this place in my neighborhood – lots of gorgeous things that seem made for quilters: http://www.brooklyngeneral.com/ (they ship for non-NYers)

  5. JPR permalink
    March 3, 2010 8:51 pm

    I love it! Great job. Nice improvising. I agree, the strip is my favorite side too! I’m sure the proud parents will enjoy using this very much. I see you managed to figure out the quilt sandwich and binding without me. I hope all is well with you and Noerah.

    • March 3, 2010 9:20 pm

      i managed without you: but it wasn’t nearly as fun… we miss you & we need you to help us eat sweet treats in the afternoons.

Trackbacks

  1. Fleeting craftroom color « innBrooklyn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

