Skip to content

Forgotten fowl: a great chicken salad to empty the fridge

March 11, 2010

Sometimes all the odds and ends in the pantry and fridge can add up to something really good (other times the experiments in eating the fridge clean can be less than inspiring).  This chicken salad came about as a way to use up a chicken whose primary purpose was to flavor some stock.  It came out fabulously and I was happy to use up several jars of goodies.  (Somehow every time I get to wash a ball jar clean I feel a deep sense of accomplishment, somewhat akin, I guess, to ticking things off a list)

It doesn’t really call for a recipe, but here are the ingredients that went into this dish:

  • 1 whole chicken, boiled to make chicken stock, and then chopped for the salad
  • 1 pint pickled cauliflower (from my cantastic collection): made according to Eugenia Bone’s recipe in Well Preserved
  • 1/2 pint of pickles (made last summer and a bit too soft for eating plain, but perfect for flavor in the salad)
  • 1 pint oven dried tomatoes (the last jar of these which we made and canned last summer: can’t wait to do more!!)
  • spicy guiness mustard (inspired by Cakewalk’s post on her mustard making)
  • homemade apple cider mayonnaise (I’m still perfecting this recipe, and will post it when I do!)

Pretty simple, and when served with some great bread from the farmer’s market, made for a really good meal!

–By Talia

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 5:50 pm

    I love this kind of thing: you wake up in the morning and have no idea that you are going to have the best lunch ever… So rewarding! Looks very delicious!

    • March 11, 2010 10:21 pm

      It makes up for all the times I pull all the weird stuff out of the fridge and it turns into something almost inedible (but I eat it anyway!)

  2. March 11, 2010 8:10 pm

    I’ve been intrigued by that cauliflower recipe of Eugenia Bone’s. I’m waiting until it’s in the can jam challenge to make…great to see you’ve done it!

    • March 11, 2010 10:18 pm

      Its a good recipe! I like the book — worked my way through most of the canning last summer!

  3. March 12, 2010 1:38 pm

    Yum! I just had a roasted chicken sandwich with just mayo and capers. No jars used up though, that is something I totally love!

  4. March 12, 2010 4:58 pm

    Lovely photos! I love dishes like this that clear out the fridge! Homemade mustard sounds great…I will definitely have to check out rebecca’s post on that.

    • March 12, 2010 5:03 pm

      Definitely check it out: I believe its easier to make than to walk to the corner store and buy mustard, its that easy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

