Skip to content

Girls gone wild: pâté edition

June 17, 2010

Our hostesses this month, Evelyne of Cheap Ethnic Eatz, and Valerie of a The Chocolate Bunny, chose delicious pate with freshly baked bread as their June Daring Cook’s challenge! They’ve provided us with 4 different pate recipes to choose from and are allowing us to go wild with our homemade bread choice.

Long ago (I’m not sure when, the memory is faded by the mists of time), though not far, far away, three friends went out for drinks and snacks (I’m not sure where, but it was somewhere fabulous!) There was much excitement when we discovered that we all loved chicken pâté and we ordered a block of it, which was served with light, puffy and delicious popovers. Since popovers are one of T.’s specialties we knew that there was magic and symbolism in the choice. And on that night a tradition was born, we three were to eat pâté and popovers on a regular basis together. Or, OK, we didn’t actually get to do it again because we were all too busy, or were distracted by other fabulous places we needed to go, or just didn’t feel up to making pâté… but, whatever, its the thought that counts isn’t it?

And then came the June Daring Cooks for which our hostesses Evelyne and Valerie challenged us to make pâté and to bake bread.  The results can be seen on the Daring Kitchen and there are lots of gorgeous photos and some great recipes.  I immediately emailed P & T and invited them over for a pâté and pickle platter event and then began to look at a lot of recipes.  I decided what I wanted was a very simple classic pâté, something reminiscent of the chopped chicken liver we had on friday nights when I was growing up, but with a dash of class.  I found the perfect recipe for Bourbon Chicken Liver Pâté on epicurious and when I made a batch it was really lovely: a simple blend of rich liver with the added depth of the bourbon (nothing says dash of class like bourbon!).  Yum!

Of course having waited so long to make liver pâté I was not content with just one batch!  As I was wandering the union square farmer’s market one friday I saw a brand new stand selling duck and rabbit.  I decided duck liver would be the perfect second pâté, but they didn’t have any… hmm… rabbit liver pâté?  daring? or crazy?  It turned out to be delicious: much less fatty then the chicken liver, the rabbit needed more onion and butter to bring it together, but the flavor was intense and bold.  Definitely worth trying.  I think next time I might actually do a combination of chicken and bunny, why not?

As for the bread, I baked french loaf from the recipe given on the daring kitchen, the bread turned out OK, though not great, because at some point I got distracted and didn’t do too good of a job, still, it was pretty good bread when sliced thin, toasted and topped with pâté.  And it was even better when soaked in milk and egg and baked into a classic raisinny bread pudding (who needs oatmeal when you can take bread pudding to work for breakfast?).  Of course I also use T.’s recipe to make a batch of golden popovers for the girl’s gone wild pate edition.  Popovers are super fun to make and eat, but a bit finicky to photograph since they don’t stick around too long (both because they get deflated and because they get eaten).  For my final act and for Noerah to photograph, I therefore made a batch of the seedy crackers which Rebecca shared on CakeWalk some months ago.  It struck me at the time as amazing that I had never before made my own crackers, that somehow I had never thought of doing so…  I think I’ll be making up for lost time because these are both easy and delicious!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 8:36 am

    I soooo love that green pot!!!! It’s so cute!

    • June 17, 2010 11:13 am

      thanks andrea, its a le creuset mini cocotte – bought it before the ‘no buy’ pledge… this is why i have to stop myself from shopping!

  2. June 17, 2010 11:08 am

    Nice choice of pate! It is something I wouldn’t make just for myself, but I would happily gobble it up elsewhere! I’ve never made popovers at home, I don’t have the classic tin. But I know you can make them in muffin tins, so now I must have them!

    • June 17, 2010 11:16 am

      this is the recipe i used: they are made in muffin tins and it works great. i did have to bake quite a lot longer, but i think my oven is not well adjusted…
      Golden Popovers

      3 tablespoons unsalted butter
      4 eggs
      1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
      ½ cup heavy or whipping cream
      1 cup milk

      Preheat oven to 400˚F. Use 1 tablespoon of the butter to butter a 12-cup muffin tin.

      Melt remaining 2 tablespoons butter and set them aside.

      Combine eggs and flour in a food processor, process until well blended, 10 seconds.

      With the machine running, slowly pour the cream, milk, and melted butter throught the feed tube. Process until smooth.

      Fill the prepared muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Place the tin on a rack in the center of the oven and bake for 35 minutes (check after 27 though, I’ve often overcooked). Don’t open the oven door while the popovers are baking or they may fall. After cooling for a few minutes, insert sharp knife into the middle of each one so that they hold their shape.

  3. June 18, 2010 8:21 am

    I”m still thinking about your pate dinner! Mouth now watering…

  4. June 18, 2010 8:37 am

    I never thought of pate and popovers! I’m finished my pate now, but will keep this in mind for next time. How great to have a group of pate-loving friends to share it with! That’s my kind of tradition.

  5. July 7, 2010 11:01 am

    posted this on twitter but if you haven’t gone, the chicken liver mousse with crusty bread at A Voce is awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

