Skip to content

Plenty of Plenty

March 24, 2012

I try to think about what I eat, to choose food that is sustainable and healthy, but too often good intentions get swept aside and I land up making (or buying) whatever it is I’m craving – and frequently that lands up including either meat or chocolate (and very occasionally both simultaneously).

Fortunately, some friend’s recently introduced me to a cookbook that has left me drooling over vegetables.  Its a pleasant change to be cooking vegetables for the sheer love of the flavors and not because I’ve shamed myself into it!  If it wasn’t so passé I’d consider cooking my way through the entire collection (OK, OK – I mostly don’t want to sign up for that and then fail to complete the exercise, I have enough unfinished projects lurking around my home these days).   The book is Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty and I highly recommend it – the photographs are inspiring and the recipes, while easy enough that you’ll want to make lots of them, are special enough to be worth the effort. You can also find a great collection of Ottolenghi’s recipes online.

I started by making his Black Pepper Tofu - an asian inspired dish that packs plenty of heat from both chili’s and black pepper, and that I served with rice.  The only change I made was to use chili flakes instead of chopped fresh chili’s (I really don’t love working with fresh chili, I always manage to wipe some in my eyes!).  I really love this sauce and am planning to make it a second time this weekend substituting eggplant for half of the tofu – I’ll let you  know how that goes.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 6:07 pm

    Welcome back! I just heard of this book over at Autumn Makes and Does, and can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. I’ve also just went in with a friend on some tofu culturing agent, so when I get a batch of homemade tofu, this may be just the thing to make!

    • March 26, 2012 7:53 am

      Rebecca! Thanks!
      Homemade tofu, wow! I can’t wait to read about that.
      As for the book, until you get your hands on it: have a look on amazon.com, about half the pages are up in their viewer including lots of the recipes and photos!

  2. March 31, 2012 8:39 pm

    I love this book as well–funnily enough, everyone in my husband’s extended family got it for another member of the family last Christmas, mostly by coincidence. They all love it as well. i really like the leek fritters, never would have thought of those spices in combo with leeks. I’ll check this one out too!

    • April 1, 2012 8:14 pm

      its definitely a great gift book: i’ve given a copy myself already!
      i’ll be trying the leek fritters next i think: was wondering what recipe to do next and that one looked good and now has a personal recommendation!!

Trackbacks

  1. Caramelized garlic tart, or how to keep the vampires away! « innBrooklyn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

