Skip to content

Coffee: how complicated!

December 18, 2009

Photo by http://morguefile.com/creative/alvimann

We ran out of coffee at home a few weeks ago and I finally got to buying a pound of beans last night after work.  Seems like it shouldn’t have taken so long to get something so small, and yet… how complicated it was!  I decided that I wanted to understand a little more about what the labels on the coffee I was buying meant: how fair was fair trade and why did the coffee need to be shade grown.  I found a wealth of information about all aspects of coffee and conservation here and armed with a little more knowledge I was ready. In the end I decided to buy the Piccolo Mondo Fair Trade Organic Blend a medium roast coffee from gimme! coffee. The coffee is fair trade as well as organic and shade grown. And I like supporting gimme! coffee, and not only because they are showing Julia’s photographs in their Soho store, also because they are a small NY business who seem to really believe in the values they tout on their website.

-By Talia

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 7:27 am

    I have never tried shade grown coffee (knowingly). I am used to the Dunkin Donut and 7-Eleven varieties- I hope I won’t be barred from the site for confessing this. I would love to try some though.

Leave a Reply

