Skip to content

Waste knit, want knit.

December 20, 2009
The socktopus takes on the white beast

Socktopus vs Georgie

I am always promising myself I’ll use up the odds and ends of leftover yarn in my stash before I start any new projects or buy any more yarn, but I have such a hard time stopping myself from buying once I get into a yarn store or see a new pattern I like.

For the last week though I’ve been hard at work actually making something from the stash and I just finished knitting this socktopus. A s a bonus I used really scrappy yarn I’ll never knit with to stuff the body of the beast.  Melissa is going to give it to her nephew when she goes home for christmas next week…. if Georgie doesn’t tear off a tentacle first!

Next I’m going to unravel a scarf that I rescued from the pile of clothes destined for salvation army and reknit it. It was too short as a scarf but I think its going to be a good cowl! Will keep you posted.

— By Talia

7 Comments leave one →
  1. brooklynverni permalink
    December 21, 2009 7:27 pm

    I really wanted to start an account and call myself THE WHAT. Then i thought it would be more fun to terrorize you from my own name =) congrats on the new endeavor T

    • December 22, 2009 3:34 pm

      I’m torn: if we got postings from THE WHAT i’d consider that the blog had made it, but then i’d need to shut it down!! I think we’d rather have comments from you as you!

  2. Orli permalink
    December 21, 2009 9:32 pm

    Love the new blog and the socktopus. Congrats on both. How about a post on the fabulous house you designed in LA that used leftover tile purchased on Craigslist?

    • December 22, 2009 3:33 pm

      Thanks Orli: and I think that sounds like a great post idea! Though really we both know it was only because of your extreme diligence that those tiles worked out!

  3. Indira Banerjee permalink
    December 22, 2009 9:19 pm

    I simply love this Socktopus! Finally those lost pair or socks found a home from the dark and twisted cavern of the Washer & Dryer–a true journey from rags to riches!

    I cannot wait to hear that cow mooing, Talia. I would love to see more of these ‘Green Toys’.

    • December 22, 2009 11:05 pm

      My next rags to riches project is a quilt, I’m going to use some old sheets and other fabric scraps. But there are tons more toys I am going to add to my project list for after that!!

  4. JPR permalink
    December 24, 2009 12:24 pm

    I love the soctopus! What a great, fast project and fun to give.

Leave a Reply

