Skip to content

My first quilt

December 31, 2009

Last summer I walked into a gallery showing some custom Denyse Schmidt quilts and I saw quilting in a whole new light.  Suddenly, I wanted to rush home and use all my fabric scraps (I didn’t now it then, but I also wanted to cut up Melissa’s sheets which she kindly donated to the crafty project).   Six months later, I’ve got some squares ready for a quilt for Nivi and Paula’s baby girl who is expected in February.  I want to put the front together this week but I need your help!

Please vote on your favourite quilt and PLEASE, any advice and your in depth thoughts would be much appreciated!

— By Talia

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 12:33 pm

    I chose Quilt C because I think that after the baby is older a brown quilt can still be used around the house without looking too ‘babyish’. It would also blend better with the house furniture later. This way the quilt can have have a longer life and be ‘repurposed’. I must add however, that I like the pattern layout of Quilt A better for a brown quilt. Great job with the poll, Talia!

    • JPR permalink
      December 31, 2009 2:30 pm

      I voted for quilt B mainly because I like the brown background and the layout of the squares, but I like the border for quilt C!! Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  2. Indira Banerjee permalink
    January 1, 2010 2:44 pm

    I chose “B” because the two squares that are flushed to the edge is kind of symmetrical while other small squares are kind of free floating . This combination is creating a calm visual effect. It will also not run out of its utility. Because of its slightly dark background you do not need to wash it that often therefore, it retains its ‘sustainable’ value. Besides,this color can blend with any kind of furniture.

  3. tara Kashyap permalink
    January 1, 2010 4:28 pm

    I love pink and I think A has by far the most girly appeal – which i think is super important, however……. i would like it better if it had a little more weight probably with a darker/contrasting boarder. It better be A or I’m boycotting this blog talia.

  4. Indira Banerjee permalink
    January 4, 2010 5:32 pm

    The suspense is killing me. So what design you end up choosing, Talia?

    • January 4, 2010 5:34 pm

      Ah Indira: you are going to have to wait to see the end result! But if all goes according to plan I should have it largely done soon, the baby shower is this weekend.

  5. February 22, 2010 7:10 am

    Its finally done! And just in time. Check it out at https://innbrooklyn.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/quilt/

Trackbacks

  1. Quilt « innBrooklyn

Leave a Reply

