Skip to content

One life to live.. or maybe more

January 1, 2010

A couple of weeks ago I said to Talia that I need to buy new kitchen chairs.  She suggested that I reupholster the ones that I have and offered to teach and help me do that since she recently took an upholstery class.  I should have known better than to mention to her that I wanted to buy something new. Anyway, reluctantly and skeptically I agreed.  We went to Purl in Soho and bought organic cotton canvas.  She came over to my house with her ‘tools of the trade’ and we got started.

I must say it was surprisingly easy!  The only part that I didn’t like was stapling the fabric to the seat because it required a lot of strength and my hands got tired.  While we were at it we also video taped the event.  See our fun video and hear Talia making fun of my upper body strength.

The results, by the way, were amazing.  Thanks, Talia!

-by Noerah

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Indira Banerjee permalink
    January 1, 2010 2:48 pm

    Congratulation Noerah, for whipping out such a great video in such a short time!

    Talia, this old chair is so beautifully restored that I do not want to use them anymore.

  2. January 1, 2010 3:50 pm

    Thanks. It only took two hours for four chairs. It was well worth the effort.

  3. Conrad Gartz permalink
    January 1, 2010 8:27 pm

    Nice job. I reupholstered a foot stool once with a pillow case. 🙂

    • January 2, 2010 11:55 am

      Thanks, Conrad. Do you have a picture of your reupholstery project. I would really like to see it.

  4. Shehla permalink
    January 2, 2010 11:34 am

    Excellent job Talia and Noerah! I liked the video too. Looked like it was a lot of fun. Noerah I thought you could only restore buildings but it seems that you are equally good in restoring other things also.

  5. amreenn permalink
    January 2, 2010 1:19 pm

    so much fun and informative:) making the center point on the back of the chair really made the difference!

  6. JPR permalink
    January 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    beautiful work ladies. Nice to see those upholstery classes put to good use. Still waiting to pictures of your ottomans Talia!

  7. Zeba permalink
    January 10, 2010 2:31 pm

    Well done !! Noerah Apa and Talia. The chairs looked really good. I like the video editing even more!

Leave a Reply

