Skip to content

Where your mouth is…

January 6, 2010

I know I  put a lot of food posts on here!  What can I say, I love to cook.  But,  for once, the ‘your mouth’ to which the title of this blog refers is actually metaphorical.

Today I’m thinking about money.   A few months ago I decided it was time to change my bank.  I like the idea of giving my business to companies I respect and the more I read about the banking industry the more I knew I had to make a more informed banking choice.  I did some research and decided to switch the Amalgamated bank in NY.   I like them because they are relatively small (ie, not too big to fail) and because they are union owned.  I feel good knowing that I’m not lending my money to anyone I don’t trust to use it well!  I finally got the accounts set up and am busy changing over all my direct deposits and that kind of stuff.  It turns out I’m not the only one thinking this way…

This week Ariana Huffington has a piece that has some additional ideas about how to get your money ‘out of the hands of oligarchs’ — for example, she suggests moving to small community banks and she tells you where you can get information on the ‘health’ rating of those institutions  (You can get similar bank safety ratings from Bankrate.)  Have a look at that article if you too want to put your money where your mouth is!

–By Talia

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 9:46 pm

    Great article! The only problem with smaller banks is the lack of ATM machines in convenient locations. These banks need to get more creative, like USAA. This small private bank lets people make deposits by taking a pictures of the checks through the iPhone! http://bit.ly/6ksLLi http://bit.ly/51lGSn

  2. Indira Banerjee permalink
    January 10, 2010 6:52 pm

    I do not think that a limited number of ATMs is an issue. Typically most people withdraw cash from ATM twice a month and you can easily use one of the local ATMs for that purpose.

Leave a Reply

