Skip to content

Takes the cake

January 10, 2010

I love cakes:  baking them and eating them and especially sharing them with friends who like to eat them.  I’m also passionate about eating in a way that is both good for me, and ‘sustainable’.  Given those facts, it is no suprise that I love Sarah Magid’s cakes – they are spectacular custom organic creations with a simple elegant style.   I had looked at her website more than once but never had an occasion important enough to warrant ordering a custom confection.

Recently I discovered she had published a book: Organic and Chic which gives step by step instructions for making her cakes.  I decided to bake one for Nivi and Paula’s baby shower, which was this weekend.

I did a trial run last week — and I’m really glad I did because the recipes were a bit more finicky than I am used to and I had to make some adjustments (also, I eliminated the peppermint essence I had put in after hearing that the cake tasted a bit like toothpaste!)

Then,  friday night and saturday I assembled the cake you see on the left.   It was six layers of  red velvet cake.  Between layers is a light creamy white frosting sprinkled with chopped up peppermint candycanes and chocolate  which I sprinkled in a donut shape between each layer, leaving some uncovered frosting so the next layer would stick!  The white vanilla frosting on the outside is decorated with lots of pretty pink flowers.   I wish I had a photo of it once it was sliced, all those layers were pretty impressive!

I was really pleased with how it turned out — it was both tasty and beautiful!  Now I just need another occasion that warrants all that work!

— By Talia

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jolene permalink
    January 10, 2010 8:16 pm

    Hey Tals – That cake looks amazing, and the description literally made my mouth water! Thanks for sharing this, you know I love the daisies!!

    • January 10, 2010 10:57 pm

      yup, i know you love daisies: i also know your mouth waters pretty often: genetic disorder, right?!

  2. Indira Banerjee permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:44 pm

    It is an absolute poetry in the ‘bake’. It has such a delicate visual appeal. I know that it is also palatable since I tried the first version.

    • January 10, 2010 10:58 pm

      Thanks Indira: I was so glad you liked the trial run, your feedback kept me from panicking and trying something totally different!

  3. JPR permalink
    January 14, 2010 9:46 pm

    Wish I was there to taste the second go round. I’m sure everyone at the shower loved it!!

  4. angelstar2 permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:11 pm

    My post picked up yours as similar and that pink cake has done nothing to help my dilemma!

    Lovely Blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

