Skip to content

Turn clutter to cash and help Haiti

January 19, 2010

My obsolete electronics drawer

Every tech-loving person has a drawer or two full of old electronics, which they know they will never use.  You can’t just throw away the stuff because it meant something to you once.  And sometime we are just too lazy to make the effort to recycle (maybe I’m just speaking for myself).  I too have one such drawer.  It contains a Sony portable CD player, a cassette recorder, old Samsung cell phone, a Palm Pilot PDA, etc.  I have opened it many times thinking that I should clean it out.  I stare at it and my eyes gloss over.  Then I close the drawer and move onto something else.  I have moved houses but the drawer travelled with me with all its obsolete belongings intact.  It has stayed like that for a few years and the excuses need to end and I need to claim the space back.

I came across a great website, gazelle.com, where you can get cash for cleaning your clutter!  You can either choose to keep the cash or give it away to your favorite charity.  This is how it works in three easy steps:

  • You search for your specific item by brand and model
  • Click a few boxes to describe its condition
  • Click on the button to calculate its cash value.

After setting up your account gazelle pays for postage for you to send your item back to them.  After they receive it you get a check!  If it is determined that the item has no value, gazelle will recycle it for you responsibly!

Due to the tragic turn of events in Haiti on January 12th, we at innBrooklyn have decided to set up a fund raising drive through gazelle.  Please visit us at www.innbrooklyn.gazelle.com and donate your old electronic equipment.  All the money raised will be sent directly to PlanUSA Haiti Relief.  We have set a goal to raise $100 by the end of March.  Please help us fulfill this goal by clearing up your clutter, sending it to Gazelle for free and helping those in dire need.

-by Noerah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shehla permalink
    January 19, 2010 10:32 pm

    A very good use of not so useful things!
    Noerah I am sure if you open my bedside drawer you will definitely find a few items.

  2. January 20, 2010 6:11 am

    Yes, that is the drawer that is in the picture above!

Leave a Reply

