Skip to content

Clean, green & cheap: best glass cleaner tip

January 22, 2010

People often want to switch to organic / green cleaning products but are put off by the higher prices.  And indeed sometimes it seems that the same companies who bring you toxic sludge are now slapping on a green label, adding an extra 25% to the price and marketing themselves as the latest green thing.  But sometimes going sustainable really can be cheaper and easier.

For cleaning glass use a mix of 1 part water to 1 part vinegar.  If you make up a batch and put it into a spray bottle it’ll be ready whenever you need some squeaky clean, streak free shine on your windows!  (Use up your windex and refill the bottle with this, you’ll be recycling the bottle too).

There is a bit of a vinegar smell, but it fades very quickly.

And the best part… I priced out various green cleaners at between $3.99 and $5.49 for a 32oz bottle.  The same quantity of vinegar was only $1.99 and thats going to be diluted by half, so you are spending only 99c for the same amount of cleaner.  Thats a savings of 75% at least!

–By Talia

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 11:57 am

    White vinegar is such a staple in my house, I’m not sure how anyone does without it. Surfaces, floors, laundry…
    Same goes for clothespins, but that’s another post. 🙂

    • January 22, 2010 1:25 pm

      I am intrigued by this clothespins business… I hope you will tell us more! I don’t even own any… it sounds like I’m missing out greatly

  2. Briana permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:10 pm

    I love my clothes pins. I have some highly weathered ones from my mom’s clothesline in Idaho that I made fridge magnets out of by gluing little magnet strips to the back. I also keep them in the drawer to reseal opened bags of chips and such.

  3. sarah permalink
    March 30, 2010 12:36 pm

    planning on making some tonight. does the mixture last just fine for an indefinite amount of time? i’m presuming yes?

  4. sarah permalink
    March 30, 2010 12:36 pm

    p.s. any type of vinegar?

    • March 30, 2010 12:42 pm

      just plain white vinegar is what i used. I believe it’ll last pretty much forever if you just leave the mix in a spray bottle.

Leave a Reply

