Skip to content

A ‘green’ Twinkie

January 27, 2010
tags:

A few days ago I moved to a different desk at work.  I cleaned out my drawer and found two Twinkies left over from my deadline days in November. I don’t normally eat junk food but find it a necessary staple during long evenings at work during deadlines.  Anyway, one of the two Twinkies had caught fungus!  I was so excited to see this.  I couldn’t wait to show it to Talia the next morning at work.  She had told me (and I heard this from others) that Twinkies never go bad because of all the preservatives in them.  My Twinkie going bad proved that there was something ‘non-synthetic’ in there.

Talia is the ‘greener’ one among us.  She is always lecturing me about eating healthy, organic food and being friendlier towards the environment.  She even went so far as to pin up in front of my desk a copy of a page from a book she was reading that showed how close dolphins are to humans in intelligence.  The message was to stop killing them by using plastic bags since they end up in their environment.

I do care about the environment but I am not that green.  I would not mail back  Styrofoam to a recycling center, while she would (as you can see from the photo on the post below).  I do recycle cans and bottles but not paper at home.  I would get a paper bag from Whole Foods to carry my lunch back to my office (unless Talia is with me).  A New York Times article titled Therapists Report Increase in Green Disputes brings this tug-of-war between two people, one greener than the other, to light.  The article shows how the moderate people are made to feel as if they are not doing enough for the environment.   There is no real conclusion to this post because this is an issue I feel will always be there.  I can only say that there are probably more moderate environmental people out there than the stricter environmental crowd.  Moderation is better than not caring at all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alon permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:58 pm

    Did the fungus make the twinkie taste any different?

  2. JPR permalink
    January 31, 2010 8:43 pm

    so funny! I can’t believe it. I miss twinkie afternoon deadlines.

    • February 1, 2010 9:43 am

      Yes, Jen.. this Twinkie could have been yours if you were here! We have stopped eating them completely since the deadline – Noerah

Leave a Reply

