Skip to content

Scarf v. Noerah: scarf wins!

January 28, 2010

Noerah graciously agreed to model this scarf this morning even though she will not be the lucky recipient of the knitted gift.  (Avid readers will already be aware of what I am threatening to buy Noerah for her birthday).

I finished knitting it last week and I’m really happy with how it turned out.  I used a beautiful  bulky pencil roving from Imperial Stock Ranch.  The ranch is sustainably farmed and the yarn is certified organic.  The yarn comes in a double strand but I doubled down again to make it four, hence the super chunky feel. Its a bit of a tricky fiber to work with since it hasn’t been spun and it can easily pull apart if you give too much of a tug when you are working.  But the finished garment seems to be nice and sturdy.

I got the pattern from friends, both of whom have made the scarf, each with different yarns.  The change in texture and size is so complete that you would never recognize they are the same pattern.  (I’ll try get photos from Teresa and Cassie so you can see how different they are).   The body of the scarf is knit so that every fourth row includes a string of double yarn over and then knit two together and the other rows are just knit.  Thats really the whole pattern apart from a few rows top and bottom and two stiches on each side before the pattern starts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 2:30 pm

    I’ve seen a few patterns now using pencil roving, I’ve never tried using it before. I do have a lot of washed, carded and unspun fleece, I’ll have to see if that’s something I could make myself? But that scarf is gorgeous!

    • January 28, 2010 2:39 pm

      its my first time using pencil roving: i just couldn’t resist it in the store! didn’t know what i was getting myself into. you should definitely try using your unspun fleece.

  2. January 30, 2010 10:07 am

    You know I just remembered that I have a black fleece that my Gram dyed deep green over… Great color and not too itchy, so you’ve convinced me to try it! I hope to get started today.

Leave a Reply

