Skip to content

Link Roundup: Blogroll – Food Blog Edition

February 8, 2010

Apple Time CapsuleToday we are adding the blog roll widget back in and what we want to do is introduce the blogs as we add them to the blogroll so that we can share with you why we are fans.  Its a change from our (ir)regular link roundup page and we hope you’ll like these blogs as much as we do.  More to follow on other topics and as we discover other blogs: please feel free to let us know your favorite food blogs in the comments section!

Rebecca at Cakewalk is a regular source of inspiration.  Her blog focuses mostly on food but also shares some of her other musings.  Her photographs are a delight – she has such a great eye for composition and detail.  The first day I looked at her blog she was looking back over her favourite food photos of 2009 and I just fell in love with the beet pasta — have a look and you too will drool!  While my friends often make fun of my desire to make things from scratch, Rebecca makes me realize how much more I could do!

Jessie at Rurally Screwed shares the story of her move from the big city to ‘the middle of nowhere’ trading in her glamorous life as a New York editor for a home with her her new husband.  Jessie hasn’t lost her ironic city style and her posts about the exploits of her chickens and her husband are a pleasure to read.  Finding herself with way too many eggs on her hands Jessie is currently undertaking an eggsperiment as she attempts to eat her way through as much as she can of the produce of her little flock.  The rest she sells. And for those of us further away we can still benefit from her recipes and her wit.

Kate at Hip Girls lives right in my neighborhood, Bed Stuy, yet we’ve never met offline.   She shares her explorations of what people “used to do before packaged food, television, Ikea or Facebook”.  Some of her posts are food related: she makes plenty of jam, but she also has fun making soap with friends and is somewhat obsessed with clothespins (though I am yet to understand the extent of this).  She is  a breath of fresh air in a stale consumer world!

The tigress behind the eponymous Tigress In a Jam is a self proclaimed obsessive whose love of jam and pickles led her to create a Can Jam which is taking the world of preserving by storm.  She has about 140 canners following the monthly challenge.  Not content to simply get them started, her write up of their January exploits must have taken her hours to produce and provides wit and wisdom for every entry. Between monthly canjam writeup she posts about her other preserving exploits.

My fellow South African over at Cook Sister shares lots of photographs and stories but what I like best is her recipes for all things South African.  She explains that it was homesickness for sunny SA that led her to find the joy in cooking, photography and blogging and I’m very glad she did.  When I want the taste of home this is where I turn.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 10:40 am

    I can’t wait t meet IRL (in real life), neighbor! Thanks for the sweet mention and for props on the life of better choices.

    • February 8, 2010 10:45 am

      I’m looking forward to meeting you IRL too: and have a can of something carroty ready for you 🙂

  2. February 8, 2010 5:33 pm

    hey girls,
    thanks for the shout out! very nice indeed! 🙂

  3. February 9, 2010 9:56 am

    Talia, you’re the best! Thanks so much! Jessie

    • February 9, 2010 10:01 am

      If I’m the best does that mean you’ll bring me some of your eggs in your purse next time you come to NYC?

  4. February 10, 2010 5:42 am

    I’m last to thank you since I’ve been cookin’ and not readin’! So thanks! I appreciate your common interests here and at flickr, and have so much fun trading comments with you!

    • February 10, 2010 8:03 am

      our pleasure: and we’re always happy to have you cooking (and posting)! noerah bought a big old batch of brown mustard seed at the indian grocery store near her house — you know what that means!!

      • February 11, 2010 12:24 am

        I think I can get everyone hooked on mustard! What a happy thought!

      • February 11, 2010 10:00 am

        I think I hear an evil laugh as amazing mustard girl takes over the world.

  5. February 10, 2010 12:05 pm

    Oh, dear — I feel a great amount of time suckage coming on. Great blog recs… and I’m going to second your recommendation for Rebecca’s blog over at Cakewalk. Great stuff going on over there… and if it doesn’t make you want to quit your job and become a full-time domestic, I’m not sure what would!!

    • February 10, 2010 3:02 pm

      the time suckage of the blog surfing is relatively small compared the enormous amounts of time i have to try to find to cook all the things recommended on the blogs! whew…! it definitely does make me want to quit my job

Leave a Reply

