Skip to content

Beekman 1802

February 10, 2010

I’m a sucker for packaging. Sometimes it pays off. Recently, at one of my favorite lunchtime haunts, I discovered soaps by Beekman 1802. The farm of the same name, located in Sharon Springs, New York, has only been around just under two years but judging from their website, they’ve got a lot going on. The small sustainable farm raises goats and makes soaps and cheese from their organic milk. I bought the “Year in the Country”set of 12 goat milk soaps which has a bar for every month of the year, each of which is scented using seasonal ingredients. Each bar is sweetly wrapped in brown paper, stamped and tied up with bakery string. I bought two year’s worth. They were on sale!

The farm itself looks amazing and Tali and I are feeling inspired to pay them a visit sooner than later, so stay tuned.

– by Melissa

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 12:03 pm

    Oh, I’m in LOVE!
    Of course I’m hopeless when it comes to clever packaging. I’m the girl who buys wine based on the attractiveness of the label (often a mistake!)… and who has been known to buy things at art fairs just because I glimpsed the very cool way the artists wraps up her wares and sends them off to their new homes!

    I’m also a huge fan of sustainable farming. If I lived closer, I’d suggest we get together to make a trip out to Beekman 1802!

    • melissa Wagner permalink
      February 10, 2010 9:51 pm

      I’m glad you like them*
      I do the same thing when it comes to wine (and things like cosmetics). I got the soaps on sale at anthropologie so you should check your local joint and see if they have any left! If we end up going to the farm, I will definitely document the day here.
      *melissa

  2. February 11, 2010 12:29 am

    I’m so totally a soap junkie, and these do look great. I was just thinking about trying to make some soap the other day…partly since I love packaging too!

    • February 11, 2010 10:00 am

      I’d love to make soaps too… though its not yet moved up to the top 100 on my to do list!

  3. Sarah permalink
    February 16, 2010 12:50 pm

    I consider myself not only a sucker for packaging, but also a bit of a soap connoisseur…or at least a soap snob…. and these soaps are fabulous!! I love all the different scents. I leave a bar by the kitchen sink, and I can smell the soap while i wash dishes. i love it! thanks for the gift melis.

Leave a Reply

