Skip to content

Mooch your way to perfect color

February 14, 2010

I am definitely someone who loves to have books: and so I own too many of them.  That is my bookshelf at left, where part of my collection is housed, often with double stacked shelves and with little space to grow.  So what do we at innBrooklyn recommend you do if you love books but hate the idea of old ones being thrown away to make space on the shelves?  (I freely admit that I have, on occasion, had to get rid of a book because there was no longer room for reading matter with that spine color in my coordinated collection.  I can only say that arranging your books by spine color makes it infinitely easier for a visual person to find a book they are looking for among the multitudes)

Over the last couple of years I have made good use of bookmooch — a site where you can find homes for your old books where they will be newly loved.  You get points for each book you send off (extra points if they are shipping internationally) and with those points you can “buy” new books.  Its a really great way to keep getting new reading materials without having to spend too much money…  The only downside is that new and popular books do not tend to be available either because nobody is yet getting rid of them, or because too many moochers lie in wait for those that become available.  But never fear, they will become unpopular some day so just put them on your wishlist – and in the meantime, that is what the library is for!

–By Talia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 11:16 pm

    Wow! That is Organized! I’ve seen other places that have color organized shelves, and I’m always envious. I’m organized, but not that organized! That bookmooch sounds interesting, too. More stuff to check out – though I’m more of a library girl…

    • February 14, 2010 11:41 pm

      its the only organised thing in my room, believe me! i’m actually a total slob! i have to go back to the library myself: i remember you get lots of your recipe books there… i have a branch right down the road so i really must do it!

  2. Briana permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:11 pm

    I need to de-book my space a little, too, and will be taking my books to Housing Works, which accepts book donations in support of a good cause (http://www.housingworks.org/donate/bookstore-cafe-donations/). I’ll also be taking a couple of art books to Strand to see if I can get a little cash for them. Sorry, books, times are tough. (http://www.strandbooks.com/app/www/p/sell/)

Leave a Reply

