Skip to content

Keep on truckin’

February 24, 2010

When I was visiting my mother in Cape Town a few years ago we came across some guys selling toy versions of a whole selection of heavy construction equipment.  South African kids have played with toy cars made out of old soda cans for a long time, and this builds on that tradition and takes it so much further!  There were steam rollers and cranes all made from assorted bits and pieces of old wires and cans and other ‘junk’.  Maybe its because I’m an architect and really enjoy spending time on construction sites, but I just could not resist this earth mover.  I decided that lugging a 3′ long metal toy on the airplane was totally going to be fine!  And once I got home my only regret was that I didn’t also bring the cement mixer: I’m going back for it some day I swear.

By Talia

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lbfromla permalink
    February 24, 2010 5:09 pm

    On one of our annual summer vacations in Santa Barbara I noticed an interesting art gallery which in addition to exhibiting art also has weekly workshops for children (http://www.artfromscrap.org/artworkshop.html). I am sure the kids in your neighborhood would come up with a way to make a cement mixer for you with the right kinds of scraps; and they would have lots of fun doing it!

    • February 24, 2010 5:18 pm

      what a great idea for a kids workshop. thanks for the link.
      I will need to make some new friends in the neighborhood!!

  2. February 25, 2010 4:19 pm

    Oh my gosh, my husband NEEDS one of these. Where do I buy??? Jessie

    • February 25, 2010 5:26 pm

      You’ll have to go to Cape Town Jessie! Or at least I have not found anywhere stateside to get them…. we should set up a new import business!

Leave a Reply

