Skip to content

Humble tart

March 4, 2010

So you have way too much to do.  Big deadline at work.  A massive backlog of stuff to do at home.  A painfully lengthy list of projects awaiting completion.  And the blogosphere full of new challenges that need signing up for.  What would any sane and well adjusted person do?  Stay up till midnight to bake this Salted Caramel Pie of course.

I love salted caramel — the salt seems to intensify the richness of the caramel and cuts what might otherwise be a cloying sweetness creating a luxurious flavor.  And this tart features the salted caramel front and center without getting distracted with any sort of chocolate, fruit topping or other tartings up.

I followed the recipe almost exactly except I used unsalted butter, because that was what I had at home, and added about a teaspoon of salt to the caramel to compensate.  It was the strangest caramel recipe I’ve ever used, and despite reassurance in the recipe I did keep wondering if it was going to work… happily, once I stopped hovering over it, the caramalisation began as promised!

Once you get it out the fridge serve it up quickly: the caramel starts to melt fairly soon so this is not the kind of tart you want sitting out at a buffet all afternoon.  It works just fine when you have collegues like a ravenous herd of wildebeest though.  It definitely works best served with whipped cream (or icecream) to provide a counter point to the rich caramel.

–By Talia

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 6:11 pm

    Mmmmmmm… Is there anything tastier than salted caramel?! It’s lovely.

    • March 5, 2010 6:13 pm

      Maybe you could do something with caramel on your saltblock!!

      • March 6, 2010 8:21 am

        In the class I took, they mentioned having chocolates set up on the cold salt block- you can also freeze them to get them really cold. But putting something hot and with a high-fat content in it may leech out too much salt. Sounds like a good thing to play around with to me!

  2. March 5, 2010 8:14 pm

    This… looks beyond fabulous. Salted caramel anything will have me screaming with delight.

    And now you’ve suggested something on the salt block?
    … hmmm… I wonder if my little baby saltblock is big enough for some sort of caramel project. I believe I did read about a bananas foster sortof a thing… caramelish…

    • March 5, 2010 10:38 pm

      oooh, try it and let me know. i am so going to get a salt block: its right near the top of my to get list! i’m jealous you have one too!
      i did a salted caramel icecream last summer: i must unearth the recipe this year!

  3. March 10, 2010 4:53 pm

    Yummm!! I love salted caramel. This pie sounds too good to be true. 🙂

  4. JPR permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:56 pm

    OHHH! I wish I were there to enjoy the bounty! Looks so delicious. I’m sure you anjoyed it with coffee too. Oh how I miss coffee and our breaks.

    • March 12, 2010 9:53 am

      We miss you! You’d have liked this morning: N brought in cupcakes for breakfast!

  5. March 12, 2010 11:27 pm

    Of course! The only reasonable thing to do, make pies! You’ve inspired me to aspire to caramel, sometime soon-ish.

    • March 12, 2010 11:31 pm

      Caramel is definitely easier than bread in my book so it should be no problem for you!!!

Leave a Reply

