Skip to content

Everyday surrealism: Julia Gillard’s photography

April 17, 2010


For almost all of my first five years in New York I lived in East Williamsburg/ Bushwick.  For those not familiar with the Brooklyn landscape Williamsburg is hipster central – chock full of super cool young things living in indistrial loftiness.  Bushwick, especially 8 years ago, displayed nary a hint of hip.  Despite the bold assurances of our realtor, our home was definitely in Bushwick.  This had several advantages including a very large apartment with a great back yard (our neighbors on either side were, respectively, a church full of singing old ladies in hats and a junk yard/construction company headquarters guarded by fierce looking dogs and a rooster) and a diverse neighborhood full of interesting characters to watch.

For several years one of my housemates was the fabulous and talented photographer Julia Gillard.  Julia and I lived on totally different schedules: I’d be up early and asleep early and she’d come home at 1am and start making herself pasta with tomato sauce for dinner.   But when we’d get some time to chill in the garden, or hang out in the kitchen it was always such a pleasure to hang out.  Julia has such an enthusiasm for life and sees so much in the world that I just walk right by. She just seems to find the most amazing angles on everything and seems to capture beautiful and surreal moments of daily life. The photos above are from her Urban Portraits series and I especially love them because many are from my old neighborhood.

The two images below are from work she’s been doing over several years shooting ‘American Holidays’ – I picked a few food related shots given our often food slanted blog profile.  I love how the table settings and plated food can speak so eloquently about family, friendships, life.  How easily I can weave whole stories about the people who carved that turkey. I guess it is just this interconnection between food and life that makes so many of us enjoy sharing our food blogs with the world.  I also find the painterly quality of these still lives amazingly beautiful.

Have a look at Julia’s website you’ll find lots more to enjoy.

–By Talia

ulia has such an enthusiasm for life and sees so much in the world that I just walk right by. She just seems to find the most amazing angles on everything and seems to capture amazing and surreal moments of daily life. The first three photos I am including here are from her Urban Portraits series and I especially love them because many are from my old neighborhood.

The last two are from work she’s been doing over several years shooting ‘American Holidays’ – I picked a few food related shots given our often food slanted blog profile but there are many from the series that have no food in them at all.  I love how the table settings and plated food can speak so eloquently about family, friendships, life. All of us who blog about food understand this interconnection of food and life so well: and Julia obviously does too!

Have a look at her website you’ll find lots more to enjoy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 9:13 pm

    These are great- I especially love the half turkey on the counter… I’ll have to check out her site!

Leave a Reply

