Skip to content

Spring Garden

April 28, 2010

Bedstuy brownstone front yard

You know you are in New York City when you consider a little front yard garden a fabulous luxury: well I am and I do!  There are the obvious pleasures, like sitting on the front stoop gossiping and sipping cocktails while the world passes by.  After hardly seeing any of our neighbors all winter its fun to have everyone back out on the street, and JJ back on the corner of the block selling houseplants and watermelon and grapes as the season moves on.  And I enjoy the time I put in to doing little bits of garden work, its fun to get my dirt under my nails and have sore muscles from squatting and lunging!

But even when I don’t have time for lingering lazily outside I manage to enjoy my little garden.  Every morning I stop on my way out the house and check if there is anything new going on.  I’ve tried to plant lots of different flowers so that something will always be flowering, and this year we started with some nice early crocuses and have had a little color ever since.

Since it seemed like the flowers were pretty  much taking care of themselves and filling in the plot nicely, I turned my attention to edible landscape… The two terracotta pots on either side of the door are strawberry pots with a grand total of 18 wild strawberry plants between them.  I’m hoping I did an ok job potting them on monday evening after work and that in a few months time I’ll be able to start harvesting tiny sweet berries.  On the far right of the garden are two planters I made last year (to match the also homemade benches with their rough stonehenge look).  There are organic chives and mint and cilantro and oregano and rosemary in those two.  Its been a bit cold lately so I hope they didn’t mind too much – I can’t wait to have some herbs to harvest.

alliums, garden bench and purple smoke tree in front yard

spring flowers in my front yard

Bleeding hearts in Bedstuy

First Clematis of the season

–By Talia

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 3:36 pm

    What a lovely garden, it is amazing how much you have done with a small space. I hope that you are proud of yourself. Diane

  2. Jolene permalink
    April 28, 2010 3:41 pm

    The garden is looking lovely Tals. I wish I was back on the stoop soaking it in and sipping mimosas!

  3. April 28, 2010 3:50 pm

    What a cute front yard!

  4. April 28, 2010 4:54 pm

    I love seeing your yard! It would probably seem to you like I have “acreage”… Goes to show how everything is reletive!

    • April 28, 2010 7:29 pm

      Thats funny! I guess I have ‘acreage’ myself compared to people whose only outdoor space is their fire escape!

  5. April 28, 2010 8:19 pm

    I love your garden! The bleeding hearts are beautiful. Too bad they don’t stick around longer. Love your site.

    • April 30, 2010 7:43 am

      I always get sad when the flowers are done for the year… but I guess gardening is a good lesson in appreciating fleeting beauty!

  6. April 29, 2010 2:23 pm

    I love urban gardens, and your is beautiful! It makes me miss New York…

    • April 30, 2010 7:44 am

      There is definitely something special about little urban gardens: but on the other hand it must be nice to have lots of space!!

  7. sarah permalink
    April 29, 2010 9:49 pm

    Your garden looks beautiful! I love this time of year … just planted my pansies and cleared out all the beds. There is something incredibly satisfying to coming inside tired and covered in dirt.

    • April 30, 2010 7:45 am

      Am I crazy or was that some pretty late garden work based on the comment time. I’m impressed! And I totally agree, its such a good kind of tired!

Leave a Reply

