Skip to content

Ode to iPad 3G

May 5, 2010

iPad-3G-PurchaseOn Friday evening, 2 1/2 hours after the launch of the iPad 3G, I finally owned one.  I controlled myself after the wifi model came out a month ago and waited for the 3G version. The wifi model only connects to the Internet when you are have a wifi signal whereas the 3G model can connect to the Internet anywhere (for a monthly fee which is half of what other companies charge for similar access on a mobile device).   The Apple case was not available in the store so I  couldn’t buy it.  I took a picture at the mall of me holding the Apple bag and emailed it immediately to Talia. I managed to get home without speeding and taped the unboxing which I share with you in the video below.


(The following paragraph is rated R)  It was a magical moment in this Apple geek’s life when i touched my very own, beautifully designed iPad. It’s every curve and crevice felt so perfect in my hand. The glassy flatness of the front against the gentle bowing of the back was seductive to say the least.  its glossy screen presented the images at their most flattering. It was so responsive to my finger tips that i felt like a magician.

I mainly bought it because I have a very long commute to work, and I wanted to use that time to browse the Internet, research and write posts for innBrooklyn and watch tv or movies if I felt like it.  This device let’s me do all that and more.

My 5 minutes of fame
I tweeted the following after I bought the iPad:

screenshot2010-05-04at10-25-43pm.png
I received an email from Geoffrey Fowler, a Wall Street Journal tech reporter on Sunday afternoon saying that he saw my tweet and wanted to ask me a few questions to include in an article that he was writing for wsj and his deadline was in a few hours. I sent him my phone number and he called me back.  He interviewed me over the phone and told me that the article will be in Monday’s newspaper. This was too exciting for words – things like this never happen to me!  The article New iPad 3G Sells Briskly in Debut – WSJ.com covered the iPad 3G launch event with excerpts of my interview.

-by Noerah

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:07 am

    Wow! I can see being seduced by iPad… I went to the Apple store and played with one and thought everything looked more beautiful on it. The things Apple always gets right it is design, image clarity, and mystique! So cool about the WSJ article as well!

    • May 5, 2010 7:34 pm

      Not only is it cool it is fully useful during my commute. I can’t pin it down. I feel pretty good about the WSJ article. It was so exciting to be interviewed by a reporter!

  2. May 5, 2010 2:30 pm

    If anyone wants to get their wsj autographed I’d be happy to set up a time for Noerah to sign them: maybe a speaking arrangement at the local bookstore or something 🙂 — T

  3. JPR permalink
    May 5, 2010 10:48 pm

    Noerah, this post really makes me miss you!! I hope you are doing well…

  4. Omar permalink
    May 6, 2010 10:55 pm

    Nice!!! You’re forever famous.

Leave a Reply

