Skip to content

Green garlic pasta

May 10, 2010

This pasta is super simple and really tasty: and I think it is a lovely vehicle to show off green garlic, which was really the point since this is the dish I made for our submittal to the veg of the month club! 

I used two bunches of green garlic, removed any outer leaves that seemed papery (there wasn’t much to take off on these pretty young things), cut off the darker green tops, and then sliced the garlic in half long ways.  I tossed the garlic in a few tablespoons of olive oil and baked at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.  While the garlic was roasting I cooked some fresh fettucine in salt water.  When both pasta and garlic were ready I tossed them together, mixing with my hands until the strands of green were twined in thoughout the noodles.  Then I added plenty of black pepper and lots of parmesan.  Despite using about 9 garlics this has a lovely sweet flavor with a definite, but not overpowering, garlic taste.  Yum!!

–By Talia

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 1:02 pm

    I absolutely CAN NOT wait until green garlic shows up at the markets here in Milwaukee! I love the simplicity of pasta dishes like this — so filled with the latent promise of all that’s to come in the summer garden!

    • May 11, 2010 7:42 am

      I’m sure it’ll get to you soon… I can hardly believe there are places where spring comes later than it does to us… but of course there are! I was just in Toronto and they still have tulips blooming!

  2. May 10, 2010 10:42 pm

    this is my kind of pasta! and i love green garlic!

    • May 11, 2010 7:45 am

      and I know you are a friend of ramps too: i read that you planted some a few years ago and will be able to start harvesting/foraging soon: *jealous!*

  3. May 12, 2010 6:34 pm

    Oh yum, that sounds delicious and so simple! I just bought some green garlic from the Farmer’s Market this weekend and put it on some pizza. It was sooo good! I definitely want to try your method too — sounds like a great mid-week meal.

Trackbacks

  1. Garlic on parade « innBrooklyn

Leave a Reply

