Skip to content

Eat your greens!

May 14, 2010

Our hosts this month, Barbara of Barbara Bakes and Bunnee of Anna+Food have chosen a delicious Stacked Green Chile & Grilled Chicken Enchilada recipe in celebration of Cinco de Mayo! The recipe, featuring a homemade enchilada sauce was found on http://www.finecooking.com and written by Robb Walsh.

enchiladaIts daring cooks time again, I can hardly believe how often this keeps happening – maybe I’m doing too many challenges!  For this month, in honor of Cinco de Mayo we were challenged to make a mexican sauce and create an enchilada dish. The hosts, Barbara of Barbara Bakes and Bunnee of Anna+Food chose a Stacked Green Chile & Grilled Chicken Enchilada but allowed us plenty of leeway to create any sauce we wanted.  I had two ideas in mind when I searched for the recipe: I wanted to make a vegetarian dish, and I wanted the vegetables to be seasonal and local – that ruled out the tomatillo sauce that was suggested, though perhaps I’ll come back to it some time later in the summer.

I found a recipe on epicurious.com for cheese enchiladas with green sauce – suprisingly the green does not primarily denote green chilies but rather this is a sauce made with spinach and cilantro (and some green chilli, though I should have added more…).  I made the sauce per the recipe but added some grilled vegetables in the enchiladas before rolling them up.

I happened to do my cooking on may 5th so it actually was a cinco de mayo celebration (I didn’t have any mexican beer in the fridge though, I really should plan ahead better!)  The enchiladas came out tasty but not exceptional – the sauce was a little bland, and there was an aweful lot of fat (cream, butter, sour cream) in it.  I don’t think I’d make it again.  But it was fun to try, and definitely something I wouldn’t normally make: so once again the daring cooks got me out of my kitchen comfort zone and had me trying something new!
enchilada
enchilada

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 7:22 am

    Sorry your sauce was bland. I hope you get a chance to try the tomatillo sauce this summer. Thanks for cooking along with us.

    • May 17, 2010 9:10 pm

      I will definitely make it as soon as I see tomatillos at the market: thanks for the challege Barbara

  2. May 14, 2010 8:14 am

    Congratulations on going local and seasonal. Sorry to hear the sauce didn’t turn out that well, though.

    • May 17, 2010 9:11 pm

      Thanks Andrea: I’m glad I did it this way, bet I could make it good with more chilli and spices!

  3. May 14, 2010 10:49 am

    Next time, you should try a green mole with a pumpkin seed base… you can lighten it with just a splash of half and half, and it’s really good and spicy with roasted Anaheim chiles or Poblanos. Even if it wasn’t your favorite, the pics still rock!

    • May 17, 2010 9:12 pm

      Thanks Rebecca: I heard from someone else about pumpin seed sauce, I should have tried it. Now if you say it I know its a good idea! next time for sure

  4. May 14, 2010 11:16 am

    I really like the sound (and the look) of the spinach, but it’s too bad when something has little taste and lots of pointless fat (isn’t the point of the fat supposed to be to add flavour?).

    All of these are little experiments that we can learn from.

    The local and in-season challenge is a tricky one, especially when doing cuisine from other countries. I think it’s admirable to try to stick to such a challenge… Cheers!

    • May 17, 2010 9:13 pm

      exactly the point of the fat, i’m quite happy to have it if it does its job w/ the flavor!! and i definitely learned and would make it better next time!

  5. May 14, 2010 6:30 pm

    Wow, that really looks delicious, and with all those greens, healthy too!

    • May 17, 2010 9:14 pm

      I’m not sure the healthy greens aren’t totally negated by all the fat: but I guess its still something!!

  6. May 14, 2010 6:32 pm

    Spinach and cilantro sauce sounds delicious, but too bad it wasn’t great. I do love the picture, though. If you plant some tomatillos now, you should have heaps by late summer–they grow like weeds!

    • May 17, 2010 9:14 pm

      Oooh, maybe i’ll see if they have tomatillo plants at the market on wednesday: i could sneak a few in around the flowers in the front yard!

  7. May 15, 2010 2:59 am

    Pity this recipe was not quite what you expected. It is seldom that I don’t enjoy a veggie dish but if it has a lot of fat……… Diane

    • May 17, 2010 9:15 pm

      Sometimes I think with veggies I should just leave them alone: simple can be best to let their own flavor come out… but then I do usually love fat I’m afraid!

  8. May 15, 2010 9:52 pm

    Interesting take on the challenge. I hate spinach, so not sure I’d use it myself.}:)

    Lovely photos!

    • May 17, 2010 9:17 pm

      Thanks, it was a hard dish to photograph! And definitely not the right recipe for a spinach hater!

Leave a Reply

