Skip to content

The LIFEyear Project

May 25, 2010

My dad and me (nineteen seventy something)

I was a very well documented child!  My father, a librarian and an avid photographer, didn’t leave any mood of mine unillustrated. There was always a camera pointed at me and I had become a pro at smiling. My father bought me my first camera at the age of 12.  I snapped a lot of black & white pictures with it – subjects such as old relatives and my surroundings. Developing film was expensive and I had a small allowance so expression had its limitations. Six years later my most distinct memory was of waking up on my 18th birthday and there was a present next to my pillow from my father. It was an automatic Nikon 35mm film camera. I was so excited because it didn’t look like a toy camera like my old one did. I shot a lot of pictures but never got as good as my dad.  I never learnt to use the manual mode on his camera. I was happy looking at his beautiful pictures and whenever I wanted anything captured perfectly I would ask him.

I got seriously interested in photography three years ago. I bought my first digital SLR and started experimenting.  Since developing film was no longer needed I was able to take tons of pictures and learn from my mistakes.  My only regret is that (well there are two) that my father never got to experience digital photography since he passed away before that became popular and that I never got to show him the enthusiasm I have developed for photography.   I would give anything to talk to him about it now and learn his tricks and tips.  Since starting this blog I became more interested in food photography in particular.  I love taking pictures of food, but my appetite for photography remains unfulfilled.  Considering ways to express myself I started thinking about a ‘365 project’, i.e. taking pictures of my surroundings everyday for a year.

I discussed this with our follow blogger who has also become our good online friend, Rebecca from rCakewalk.blogspot.com and we decided to start this joint venture together.  We call it the LIFEyear project and you can visit us at LIFEyear.wordpress.com.  Each of us will take one picture everyday for a year and post it on this website.  It will illustrate one year in our lives and we will capture it in a printed book at the end of 365 days. I am really excited about this project because it will bring me closer to my dad’s memory. I will think about him as I take each picture.. this one is for you, Abba!

-by Noerah

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 10:24 pm

    What a touching story. Best of luck with the new project. I’m sure your dad is very proud of you.

    Best regards,
    Miguel

  2. JPR permalink
    May 25, 2010 11:00 pm

    That picture is beautiful!

    • May 26, 2010 7:54 am

      Thanks, Jennifer! You should think about doing something similar. Hope all is well on your end- you guys must be preparing for the new baby. Miss you!

  3. May 26, 2010 12:02 am

    Ok, you made me cry! Ever since my mom passed away I have had a lot of similar regrets. I think your project is a wonderful idea, best of luck to you!

    • May 26, 2010 7:45 am

      Awww, sorry! For the longest time I tried not to think about him as a way to forget my pain, but embracing it i’ve found is the best way to be happy. Thanks for your support of LIFEyear!

  4. May 26, 2010 7:35 am

    A great way to honor your father and your love of his photographic legacy. My biggest dream is to have one whole week to just take pictures and learn from them!! Good for you to do this project!

    • May 26, 2010 7:51 am

      I sometimes wish I had pursued photography as a career. Is it too late? Wish I could ask my dad’s opinion. Thanks for cheering me on.

  5. May 26, 2010 7:55 am

    I don’t think it’s ever too late to pursue a new career, especially if it is something you are genuinely passionate about. Keep putting your energy into your photography and see where it takes you! I love your project idea by the way, and am looking forward to seeing it unfold!

    • May 26, 2010 8:44 am

      Thanks for your support, Stephanie. Let’s see where my love for photography takes me in the year to come!

  6. May 26, 2010 12:01 pm

    I did a project like this in ’07. I never used my digital camera and thought it would be a good way to snap more pictures. I worked from home a lot, which hampered my efforts, since you can only take so many pictures of your cats before you feel like a freak. At the end, I averaged about a picture 2 of every 3 days. I’ve lapsed back to not taking many pics, but it was a good project.

    The friend who influenced me to start, Katie Aaberg still keeps with it. She’s been taking a picture every day for years now, even with a 4 yr old, 2 yr old, and baby on the way!

    • May 26, 2010 1:29 pm

      I read that its very difficult to keep up with the 365 after about two months or so. I hope I will be able to keep it up. I think pairing up with someone makes it a little easy and you try not to break the dialog because the other person will by posting. Your friend is quite amazing to be doing this for years with kids!
      And I’m sure there will be a LOT of cat pictures in my posts as well!

  7. May 26, 2010 12:26 pm

    Fantastic! I started a Project 365 this year on January 1. I’ve been posting the photos on my blog and then doing a roundup every month to see the photos next to each other. I figured that not only would it document the year in a unique way, I’d improve my photography skills by taking so many photos!

    • May 26, 2010 1:30 pm

      The month collage is a great idea! I saw your site and it looks great. Thanks for sharing. I am glad you were able to keep up with it.

  8. Indira Banerjee permalink
    May 26, 2010 9:54 pm

    LIFEyear Project is really a good idea. It is a kind of running document of those moments that something capture our attention because of their own intrinsic value or its association with our memories of the past.

    I always look forward to seeing the posting everyday and often wonder what kind of picture it is going to be.

  9. May 26, 2010 11:09 pm

    Noerah, your Dad sounds like the greatest guy…and I’m so happy to be doing this project with you with his memory in mind. I really think you inspire me a whole lot, and I love that I can ask you photography questions that you are clearly enthusiastic to help me with! I think it’s going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

