Skip to content

The elastic waist (cuter than a button)

July 30, 2010

Several years ago I took a class on sewing baby clothes with Heather Ross at Purl.  (Heather is the designer of some really fabulous, whimsical fabric lines that you can find on her website) I figured that making mini garments would allow me to learn new sewing skills more quickly.  It seemed like the basics would really be the same regardless of the scale.  It turns out only partially true — baby clothes are easier not only because they are small, but because they are simple and don’t have to fit complex adult curves.   And no 9 month old ever asked, “do these stipes make my arse look fat!”

The main benefit in the end is that I often make one of the three fabulous items we learned in that class as gifts… for girls there is an adorable dress and matching bloomers!  And for baby boys I get to make these cute little pants in all sorts of color combinations.  These two pairs are for a very close friend who is having a little boy in a month or so.  She is far away, back in South Africa, and I’m sad that I can’t deliver them in person, but I’m hoping that having made something myself will somehow make up for it just a little.  (I love and miss you Jax!)

In 2009 Heather published  Weekend Sewing, a book that includes 40 (relatively) easy patterns that can be sewn over a weekend, among them all three of the baby patterns noted above.  So even if you can’t get to Purl to take classes with Heather, you can certainly find a way to make the baby boys in your life a pair of mini jeans.

— By Talia

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 10:01 am

    Good for you. I can’t sew a stitch because of some misplaced ego move in school… I was not going to do such a girl thing as sew!! Boy, do I regret it!!! They are adorable and done perfectly.. KUDOS!

  2. July 30, 2010 11:56 am

    They look wonderful, I used to sew quite often but……… I love elastic waists, they always fit:)
    Diane

  3. Jolene permalink
    July 30, 2010 1:31 pm

    These are so cute! There are going to be some really styling babies walking the streets of NY!

  4. August 12, 2010 9:50 am

    These stylish pants almost makes me want to have another baby! I love the casual sense of style here…really cuter than a button!

    • August 12, 2010 9:54 am

      I don’t want to be responsible for paying child care if you decide to have another bambino, but i will tell you that if you do, there will be a pair of pants coming your way!

Leave a Reply

