Skip to content

Green Gas Saver

August 10, 2010

photo1-1-2010-08-10-21-19.pngIt’s been a while since I reviewed an iPhone app and so now that I have the iPhone 4 which has an accelerometer (my old 3G didn’t have it) i decided to review the app called Green Gas Saver by TheAppleseedStore.com. This is a fun app that rates your driving while you are driving and gives you warning beeps when you are not driving well! It monitors your fuel efficiency and reminds you when you are accelerating too fast or cornering too hard. I have been using it every now and then and aim to avoid hearing the offending beep and find out in real time when I’m not driving green.

GreenGas has two gauges and warning lights and beeps. The top gauge tells you when you are accelerating too fast and the bottom gauge tells you when you are cornering too hard to the right or left. The LED lights on the gauge go from green for ‘green driving’ to yellow for ‘cornering’ or ‘accelerating’ to red for ‘reckless driving’. Warnings are provided by text and beeps and both can be turned off individually.

The app rates your driving by giving you an average score. It also displays a live score that goes up and down with the quality of your driving. When you are not driving green it reduces your average score for the trip. You also get separate scores in accelerating and cornering.

I recorded a test drive with the app and found that the Acceleration gauge did not work throughout the drive.. and I know I accelerated!  The cornering worked pretty well and it is nice to hear the beep reprimand me when I am being bad.  A big thanks to my mom for sitting in the back seat and recording my little experiment to share with you!

-Noerah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 2:00 pm

    Life gets even more complicated! Now I have to listen to beeps when I don’t drive green!!!!! Diane

  2. August 11, 2010 9:04 pm

    I’d probably get too distracted by watching the meter and not the road if I had this app (even if it does have audible beeping)! I’ve recently declared my car a “iPhone – free zone”, well, unless I’m at a super long stop light or waiting for a train or something… but I’ve stopped talking on the phone when I drive. Interesting app, though!

    • August 11, 2010 10:16 pm

      It was a even more distracting giving instructions to my mom on how to film it while was cornering dangerously. It’s a good thing that I was in a parking lot! I can’t wait to test it on my brother when I am in his car.

  3. MZ Brooklyn permalink
    August 18, 2010 3:23 pm

    Maybe you have to adjust the sensitivity setting to make the acceleration respond better.

Leave a Reply

