Skip to content

Its hard to get a date in New York City

January 30, 2010

Granny Bessie's date biscuits

I was in L.A. over the weekend and we went to the farmers market — I was like a kid in a candy store prancing around exclaiming at the bounty of it all.  All that produce.  And it was winter!  It made me want to relocate.  The two things that made me most excited were the guavas (which I should have bought to make guava mousse) and the dates, which I did buy.  Two lovely bags of organic mejdool dates, and extremely juicy and flavorful they are.

I brought them back to Brooklyn and decided to use half to make my Granny Bessie’s date biscuits.  These taste of my childhood… there was always a tupperware full of them in my Gran’s fridge (my mom made them too in case that wasn’t enough).  We’d take a few, run off and play, eat, return to kitchen, repeat.. repeat… repeat.  Easy to make, delicious and they store well in the fridge (I’d say they store indefinitely but I never keep them that long)

Coconut date biscuits (or cookies in American)

  • 1 cup dates, chopped
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¼ lb butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tsp cocoa
  • 1 pkt marie biscuits, broken into small pieces ranging from crumbs to about 1/4″ big**
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • Dessicated coconut

**Note: Marie biscuits are a South African (and British/Australian) cookie not available in the US.  You can substitute a plain tea biscuit (I used animal biscuits…).  One packet is 200g, or 7oz, but its not critical that you use the exact amount or type of cookie

Melt butter in a med saucepan.
Add the dates, egg, vanilla, sugar, lemon juice and coco powder and blend.
Remove from heat.
Mix in marie biscuits.
Cool.
Roll into small balls (about the size of a cherry tomato).
Add one by one to bowl or storage conatiner/ tupperware with coconut and shake to coat biscuits
Keep refrigerated.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 12:51 am

    Planning on making these in the next day or two… There is a biscuit type cookie called a Maria cookie (Spanish, i think), usually found near the Hispanic foods that I’m going to use for the Marie’s. I’m betting they’re related.

    I can’t wait- they look so good!

    • February 2, 2010 7:39 am

      Good to know about the maria cookies: they sound just right! thanks…

  2. Indira Banerjee permalink
    February 21, 2010 9:45 pm

    Talia,I made the date cookie by following the recepie to the letter and they turned out to be good. I was able to buy Marie cookie (a pack of exactly 7 ounce)from an Indian Grocery store.

    Your recepie is very precise. I have to ask you one thing though. How did you grind Marie cookies? I used rolling pin and a cutting board to get crumbs.

    Another thing, I saw that my local Grocery store has been selling this kind of date cookies for $5.99 and the quantity is also small cmpared to the price. Therefore, your recepie is definitely a winner and I can see myself making them again in future.

    • February 21, 2010 9:54 pm

      Indira: I’m so glad the cookies came out well for you! I hope you’ll send one for me to eat tomorrow! I usually put the cookies in a plastic bag and then just break them by hand, which is pretty annoying… maybe in the bag and then the rolling pin would work!

  3. March 31, 2010 9:52 pm

    I love how you said animal biscuits. 🙂 These are lovely. I drool over California bloggers all the time with their local produce and year-round, crazy-packed markets. Thanks for the sweet story.

    • March 31, 2010 10:10 pm

      animal cookies, hmmm, for some things my vocabulary does not want to evolve! At least we’ll have some good produce here soon: I understand there were ramps at the union square market today, though i didn’t manage to get there…!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate croissants « innBrooklyn

Leave a comment