Skip to content

Strawberry Rhubarb Ice-cream

May 17, 2010

ice cream

The weather warmed up in New York and, following hard on the heels of the first warm days, I was told, in no uncertain terms, that it was time to start making ice cream.  I’m a total sucker for any request for food – I get so excited that someone likes my cooking enough to want more of it that I’m almost always certain to make whatever is asked of me.  In this case the askee was even more likely to get her request than usual, since she was the one who so generously gave me my ice cream maker a few years ago as a birthday present.   Taking my duties to heart I decided I needed to adequately prepare so I bought myself a copy of David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop (for those of you not paying attention, the previous sentence is pure and pathetic rationalization for a book purchase that I clearly do not need given the overflowing state of my bookshelves – but its a lovely volume that I’m glad to own!)

David has a recipe for strawberry rhubarb sorbet that sounded delicious, but I decided I needed something creamy for my first batch of the season, so, I made a strawberry rhubarb puree and used that in place of raspberry puree in David’s raspberry ice-cream recipe… It turned out delicious and I’m delighted to have a very full tub of it in the freezer.

On a side note — while shooting the photos of these luscious scoops Noerah and I quickly discovered just why professional food stylists use mashed potatoes to simulate ice-cream – but don’t worry, this is the real stuff this time, dripping authentically on the table!

ice-cream

Strawberry Rhubarb  Ice-Cream

adapted from David Lebovitz’s ‘The Perfect Scoop’

  • 6 stalks rhubarb
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup + 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 pint strawberries
  • 1½ cups of half-and-half
  • 1½ cups heavy cream
  • 4 large egg yolks
  1. Cut off the leaves, ends, etc of the rhubarb and cut into 1/2″ pieces, put in a medium saucepan, add the water and 1/2 cup of sugar, simmer for about 5 minutes until tender, then drain.
  2. Place the hulled and washed strawberries in a small bowl and sprinkle with 1/2 cup of sugar, mash slightly w/ fork and leave at room temperature for about 1 hour
  3. Puree the rhubarb and strawberry together in blender
  4. Warm the half-and-half  a medium saucepan. Pour the cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer over the top.
  5. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm half-and-half into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.
  6. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula. Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream. Mix in the fruit puree, stirring until cool over an ice bath.
  7. Chill thoroughly in the refrigerator and churn according to your ice-cream maker’s directions.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 1:02 pm

    This looks wonderful but strawberries and I do not agree sadly as I love them. I will double up the rhubarb and see what it comes out like. Diane

    • May 17, 2010 7:37 pm

      I’m sorry to hear that about you and the strawberries… I wonder how the rhubarb alone will be, do let us know! I was going to say maybe to tangy, but I actually love lemon icecream so maybe this will be just perfect!

  2. May 17, 2010 2:43 pm

    I keep telling myself, okay, enough with the rhubarb, but then I see it and… Luckily I do not have an ice cream maker or this would be next on my list. It looks lovely. I’m so happy you used real ice cream in your photographs. I find mashed potatoes posing as ice cream slightly disturbing ; )

    • May 17, 2010 7:38 pm

      I only started cooking with rhubarb recently, and now I’m hooked… whats not to love! I agree the faux icecream is disturbing, but not as bad as the glued on sesame seeds on a bagel!

  3. May 17, 2010 3:13 pm

    So delicious looking!!
    My question about making ice-cream at home is how to avoid the crystallized, icy cream? Maybe it is about using a good machine. I know that people make granitas and other icy deserts in their freezers with no machine, but will a cream based recipe inevitably come out with that unappealing grainy texture if I don’t use an ice-cream machine? Just wondering…

    • May 17, 2010 7:59 pm

      Thats definitely tricky… what I used to do before the ice cream maker was to take the ice cream out of the freezer every half hour and beat it, until it was too frozen to beat. Annoying, but I think it worked pretty well. Also, there is the kick the can method of making icecream — maybe we’ll do that and document it for a post for everyone without icecream makers!

  4. May 17, 2010 5:37 pm

    We have four rhubarb plants, I know what I am making:) Love the melting photo!

  5. May 17, 2010 6:52 pm

    Enchanting! I’m SO impressed. I have a bundle of gifted rhubarb (no ice cream maker though.) I’m considering making a custard of sorts…

    • May 17, 2010 8:00 pm

      do you have a kitchen aid? you are welcome to borrow my icecream maker! otherwise i was telling miya i used to just put the mix in the freezer and take it out and hand beat every half an hour!

  6. May 17, 2010 11:21 pm

    now this is a great idea for someone who has 50 kabillion rhubarb plants (er, that would be me).
    looks delicious!

    • May 18, 2010 9:48 am

      you are so lucky to have all that rhubarb! you could make about 50 kabillion pints of icecream and have some leftover for pie, chutney and your ketchup!!

  7. May 18, 2010 4:46 pm

    I have to experiment with using frozen ingredients, since I have them on hand. Just got to get the cream, and it will be mine! Great “natural” photography as well! I’m so curious to see how you do all your “backdrops” and tables – they all are different and so interesting looking!

  8. May 18, 2010 7:41 pm

    Oh wow! That looks so delicious. The melty ice cream is just calling out to me. Love the color too.

  9. May 18, 2010 9:41 pm

    The ice cream looks impossibly perfect. And the photography is just getting better every day. It’s not like it was ever not perfect, but wouldn’t any body want to be able to take a photo like that??

    • May 18, 2010 10:07 pm

      Julia, thanks for much for the compliments. I was thinking what kind of photography post I should do next and you gave me the perfect idea! I will do one on photographing this ice-cream. Thanks! Look for it later this week. -Noerah

  10. May 19, 2010 5:11 pm

    I love the melting shot! I’m such a fan of “messy” food shots, and I often find them harder to shoot than neat ones. And yes, ice cream is so hard to shoot. I recently just purchased my first ever ice cream maker, so I’m definitely going to try this. Thanks for the recipe!

  11. May 19, 2010 5:39 pm

    Those are the most delicious strawberries I’ve seen. Fabulous pics!!

    I just got a 2nd ice cream maker and can’t wait to dive into David’s book again. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

    🙂
    ButterYum

  12. May 21, 2010 8:11 pm

    This looks fantastic! I have been slowly working my way through 10 pounds of rhubarb pilfered from my mother’s huge patch. I plan to pick more this weekend, if it hasn’t gone to seed already. Must go put the ice cream canister in the freezer. I also like the looks of the chutney above!

    • May 25, 2010 1:37 pm

      Thanks Mary! You are so lucky to have a mother with a huge rhubarb patch you can pilfer from : i’m so jealous!

  13. May 27, 2012 3:43 am

    After I open up your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of garbage, is the problem on my part?

  14. svarog permalink
    May 29, 2012 6:18 pm

    Two years late to the game, but as a note, reserve the drained liquid from cooking the rhubarb and save as a rhubarb simple syrup for some interesting cocktail concoctions.

    • May 29, 2012 10:40 pm

      Its never late to the game when you are suggesting cocktail syrups… and it IS perfect timing with rhubarb back in the market! — thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Rhubarb: how do I relish thee? « innBrooklyn
  2. Strawberry Rhubarb Ice Cream « Tasty Yummies
  3. “Psalm” | Hour of Gold

Leave a comment